Reviewed by GREG KING Director: Chris Peckover Stars: Levi Miller, Olivia De Jonge, Ed Oxenbould, Dacre Montgomery, Aleks Mikic, Patrick Warburton, Virginia Madsen.   Home Alone with a body count? This blackly comic, dark and subversive variation on the home invasion drama is a bit like a warped cross between Home Alone, Michael Haneke's disturbing Funny Games, Bob Clark's 1970s slasher thriller Black Christmas, and the 80s horror/slasher thriller Silent Night, Deadly Night. And it is unexpectedly entertaining. The film is set during the lead up to Continue reading


Reviewed by GREG KING Director: Fede Alvarez Stars: Jane Levy, Stephen Lang, Dylan Minnette, Daniel Zovatto. This tense, claustrophobic thriller cleverly inverts the premise behind such thrillers as Wait Until Dark and Blind Terror, in which a vulnerable blind woman was terrorised by killers until she fought back. Here though it is a blind person who is doing the terrorising. And it is a surprisingly effective thriller that grips until the very end. It will also invite comparisons with the recent tense and claustrophobic thriller Green Room. Detroit is an Continue reading


Reviewed by GREG KING Director: Michael Henry Stars: Damian de Montemas, Sophie Lowe, Simon Stone, Mark Leonard Winter, Kestie Morassi, Ashley Zuckerman. Blame is another strong local production that should appeal to audiences who love tense dramas. This taut new Australian film is a variation of the home invasion thriller, in the vein of Funny Games, Death And The Maiden and The Strangers, etc, but it lacks the rather nasty, relentlessly sadistic edge of Michael Haneke’s film. It begins strongly when a group of strangers, dressed in black and wearing Continue reading